

# **Michigan Perfusion Society**

# **10<sup>th</sup> Annual Summer Conference**

## Crystal Mountain Resort

#### August 10-12<sup>th</sup>, 2018

The Michigan Perfusion Society is dedicated to promoting the highest standard in quality of patient care and furthering the professional interest of our members. The standards will be achieved through offering continuing education sessions, fostering open forums for the exchange of viewpoints and continuing the ongoing collaboration and monitoring of perfusion practices in the State of Michigan, The Society recognizes the need for an active force reflecting the ever-evolving challenges and opportunities of perfusion science.

# 2018 Program Agenda



#### **Program Directors**

Carmen Leone, CCP President, Michigan Perfusion Society Chief Perfusionist Henry Ford Allegiance Health Jackson, MI

Jason Penn, CCP Vice President, Michigan Perfusion Society Director of Perfusion Bronson Medical Center Kalamazoo, MI

Grant Whittlesey, CCP Treasurer, Michigan Perfusion Society Director, Pediatric Perfusion Children's Hospital of Michigan Detroit, MI

Terry Ennis, CCP Secretary, Michigan Perfusion Society Staff Perfusionist McLaren Northern Michigan Hospital Petoskey, MI

Brittney Graebner, CCP Secretary, Michigan Perfusion Society Perfusion Associates of Michigan Midland, MI





Contributions to the Daniel T. Zwada Scholarship Fund may be made by check payable to the Michigan Perfusion Society and sent to Grant Whittlesey, Treasure, 32515 Rosenbusch Drive, Warren, Michigan 48088



## DANIEL T. ZWADA SCHOLARSHIP AWARD

In 2012 the Michigan Perfusion Society, along with the entire perfusion community, endured a tremendous loss. Daniel Thomas Zwada: mentor, instructor and friend passed away unexpectedly. Dan spent his career as a Director of Perfusion in the Detroit Metropolitan Area. From 2009 through 2012 Dan served as President and founding father of the Michigan Perfusion Society. In 2011 he was recognized, honored and awarded the first Dick and Norma Sarns Award. This award recognized his commitment to the profession, to the society and to life. His legacy will continue through the Dan Zwada Scholarship Award, which was established in 2013 by the Michigan Perfusion Society. An award of \$2500 is presented to a perfusion student in good standing to help defray some of the costs of their perfusion education.

**Scholarship Recipients:** 

#### 2018 Logan Abrams

2017 Alysha Williams 2016 Kathryn Mettenberg 2015 Chelsea Furnish 2014 Sean Clingan 2013 Matthew Mosca





<u>Friday, Aug 10</u>	
	Morning session – MSTCVS Joint Session With Surgeons – Main level Northwest Territories
7:30 am	Welcome Robert N. Jones, MD, MSTCVS President
7:40 am – 8:30 am	The Ischemic Mitral Valve
	Daniel Drake, MD
8:30 am – 9:20 am	The Infected Tricuspid Valve
	Patrick M. McCarthy, MD
9:20 am – 9:40 am	Break with Exhibitors – Lower level James Bay Hall
9:40 am – 10:30 am	Frailty in General Oncologic Thoracic Surgery
9.40 am - 10.50 am	Robert J Downey, MD
10:30 am – 11:20 pm	What's Happening at the STS and MORE! Keith Naunheim, MD, STS President
11:20 am – 12:10 pm	2018 sir Magdi Yacoub Lecture Non-technical Skills in the OR
	Thoralf M. Sundt, MD
12:15 - 1:30	Lunch – Main level Northwest Territories
12.13 1.30	





<u>Friday, Aug 10</u>	Afternoon Session – MPS Perfusion Session – Upper level Hudson Bay	
	Moderator: Theron Paugh, CCP	
2:00 pm – 2:50 pm	Joint Commission Standards for Perfusion Patty Travassos, CCP	
2:50 pm – 3:40 pm	Myocardial Protection: Long Term Protective Effects of Single/Multi-Dose Cardioplegic Solutions in Cell Culture Models Kevin McCusker, PhD	
3:40 pm – 5:00 pm	PERForm Data Presentation and Discussion Don Nieter, DVM, MHSA, CCP-emeritus, Donald Likosky, Ph.D,	
5:00 pm- 5:30 pm	MPS & PERForm - Statewide QI initiative for net pump prime Carmen Leone, CCP	
5:30 pm – 6:30 pm	Break and refreshments	
6:30 pm – 7:00 pm	High Pressure Excursion Phenomenon Dave Fallen, CCP-emeritus	
7:00 pm – 10:00 pm	Fireside Chat / MPS Roundtable Discussion Topics: High Pressure Excursion, AKI, glucose control, cardioplegia techniques, statewide QI, staffing challenges, leadership, AmSECT updates Don Nieter, DVM, MHSA, CCP-emeritus, Carmen Leone, CCP, Theron Paugh, CCP	





<u>Saturday, Aug 11</u>

7:30 am – 3:00 pm	Registration
7:00 am – 8:00 am	Breakfast with Exhibitors
	Moderator: Brittney Graebner, CCP Perfusion Session – Upper level Hudson Bay
8:00 am – 8:50 am	Myocardial Protection Overview Richard Hayes, CCP
8:50 am – 9:40 am	Goal Directed Perfusion Larry Petree, MS
9:40 am – 10:10 am	Break with Exhibitors
10:10 am – 10:25 am	Scholarship Award Presentation David Hoff, CCP
10:25 am – 11:15 am	Heparin Management Strategies Ben Smith
11:15 am – 12:05 pm	Continuing AKI Quality Improvement Initiative Don Nieter, DVM, MHSA, CCP-emeritus,
12:30 pm – 1:20 pm	Lunch with Surgeons and Exhibitors- Lower level James Bay





Saturda	<u>y, Aug 11</u>

	Perfusion Session – Upper level Hudson Bay
1:30 pm – 2:30 pm	Selecting a Perfusion Information Management Platform Theron Paugh, CCP
	Joint Session With Surgeons – Main level Northwest Territories
2:30 pm – 5:00 pm	MPS / MSTCVS Quality Collaborative Meeting Richard L. Prager, MD
6:30 pm - ?	Dinner @ Thistle Pub & Grill (vendor sponsored)
	Outdoors in the Rose Garden





<u>Sunday, Aug 11</u>

7:30 am – 8:30 am	Michigan Perfusion Society Breakfast Upper level Lake Harbor
	Moderator: Jason Penn, CCP
	Perfusion Session – Upper level Hudson Bay
8:30 am – 9:30 am	Connect Jacob Ostrowsky, CCP, FPP
9:30 am – 10:30 am	Treatment of Antithrombin III Deficiency / Fluid Management Strategies Stephen Bader, MD
10:30 am – 11:30 am	ТВА
11:30 am	Closing Remarks



#### The Michigan Perfusion Society Greatly Appreciates the Following Sponsoring Members for their Support to all the Society Programs

Sponsoring Partner:	Contact Information:
Liva Nova Sorin Group USA, Inc	Mark Kastenholz Mat Martinides Mario Bradley <u>www.livanova.com</u>
Medtronic Perfusion Systems	Jeffery Sampson Traci Hogan <u>www.medtronic.com</u> <u>www.perfusionsystems.com</u>
Terumo Cardiovascular Systems	Michael Brigham Dave Fallen <u>www.terumo-cvs.com</u>
St. Jude Medical	Jeff Morgan <u>www.sjm.com</u>
Innovative Medical	Mark Kastenholz www.innomed.com
Maquet Medical Systems	Victoria Messer <u>www.getinge.com</u>
Atri Cure	Holly Ensor <u>www.Atricure.com</u>
Quest Medical	Steve Zahlen Tom Mellos <u>www.questmedical.com</u>

#### 2018 Annual Michigan Perfusion Society Meeting Faculty

Stephen Bader, MD Heritage Valley Health System Beaver, PA

Robert J. Downey, MD Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center New York, NY

Daniel Drake, MD Munson Medical Center Traverse City, MI

Dave Fallen, CCP-emeritus Terumo Cardiovascular Ann Arbor, MI

Richard Hayes, BSCP Chief Science Officer - Quest Medical Allen, TX

David Hoff, CCP Staff Perfusionist McLaren Flint Flint, MI

Robert N. Jones, MD MSTCVS President MidMichigan Health Midland, MI

Carmen Leone, CCP Chief Perfusionist, Henry Ford Allegiance Jackson, MI

Donald Likosky, Ph.D MSTCVS Quality Collaborative University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MI

Patrick McCarthy, MD Northwestern Medicine Chicago, II Kevin McCusker, PhD Assitant Professor of Surgery New York Medical College Valhalla, New York

Keith Naunheim, MD STS President SLU Care St. Louis, MO

Don Nieter, DVM, MHSA, CCP-emeritus MSTCVS Quality Collaborative Ann Arbor, MI

Jacob Ostrowsky, CCP, FPP Chief Perfusionist, University Hospitals Cleveland, OH

Theron Paugh, CCP Director of Quality, Comprehensive Care Services Livonia, MI

Larry Petree, MS LivaNova Arvada, CO

Richard Prager, MD Director, MSTCVS Quality Collaborative University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MI

Ben Smith Clinical Consultant, Medtronic

Thoralf M. Sundt, MD Chief of Cardiac Surgery, Massachusetts General Hospital Boston, MA

Patty Travassos, CCP Comprehensive Care Services Livonia, MI